ASA awarded prizes

The ASA awards a range of prestigious prizes, including the Bok Prize for outstanding research in astronomy by an Honours student; the Charlene Heisler Prize for the most outstanding PhD thesis in Astronomy or a closely related field; the Louise Webster Prize (introduced in 2009) for outstanding research by a scientist early in their post-doctoral career; the David Allen Prize for exceptional achievement in astronomy communication; and the Robert Ellery Lectureship in recognition of outstanding contributions in astronomy or a related field.

The current percentage of ASA prizes awarded to women are as follows: Bok Prize: 33 % ; Charlene Heisler prize: 27% ; Louise Webster Prize: 38%; David Allen Prize: 0%; Robert Ellery Lectureship: 15%.

  • The Bok Prize:
    Year Recipient Gender
    2016 Samuel Hinton male
    2015 Shyeh Tjing (Cleo) Loi female
    2014 Ross Turner male
    2013 Ben Pope male
    2012 Alison Hammond female
    2011 Barnaby Norris male
    2010 Mudusha Gunawardhana female
    2009 Peter Jensen male
    2008 Christopher Hales male
    2007 Katie Dodds-Eden female
    2006 Brent Miszalski male
    2005 Patrick Scott male
    2004 Stanislav Shabala male
    2003 Darren Croton male
    2002 (not awarded)
    2001 Yeshe Fenner female
    2000 Josephine Brown female
    1999 Michael Murphy male
    1998 Malcolm Kennett male
    1997 Jean-Pierre Macquart male
    1996 Lisa Kewley female
    1995 Michael Brown male
    1994 Arthur Street male
    1993 Sally Houghton female
    1992 Kylie Waring female
    1991 Neal Turner male
    1990 Robert Reinfrank male
    1989 Andrew Gray male
    Percent of women recipients: 33 %
  • The Charlene Heisler prize:
    Year Recipient Gender
    2016 Vikram Ravi male
    2015 Morag Scrimgeour female
    2014 Justin Bray male
    2013 Emily Wisniosky female
    2012 Anthony van Eysden male
    2011 Max Spolaor male
    2010 Adam Deller male
    2009 Brendon Brewer male
    2008 Simon Campbell male
    2007 Anna Frebe female
    2006 Michael Ireland male
    Percent of women recipients: 27 %
    • The Louise Webster prize:
Year Recipient Gender
2016 David Nicholls male
2015 Madusha Gunawardhana female
2014 Simon Campbell male
2013 Andy Green male
2012 Sean Farrell male
2011 Gayandhi De Silva female
2010 Michael Ireland male
2009 Tamara Davis female
Percent of women recipients: 38 %
    • The David Allen Prize:
Year Recipient Gender
2015 Swinburne Astronomy Productions (3 man team)
2012 Charlie Lineweaver male
2009 Martin George male
2003 Fred Watson male
2001 Jonathon Nally male
Percent of women recipients: 0 %
    • The Robert Ellery Lectureship:
Year Recipient Gender
2015 Elaine Sadler female
2013 Rachel Webster female
2011 Russell Cannon male
2009 Jeremy Mould male
2007 Mike Bessell male
2005 John Davis male
2003 Don Melrose male
2001 Ken Freeman male
1999 John Storey male
1997 Ron Ekers male
1995 Dick Hunstead male
1993 Dick Manchester male
1991 Don Mathewson male
Percent of women recipients: 15 %